First GA shift in the books…

Showing up for my first GA shift, I was beyond lost. The Missourian newsroom seemed like a well-oiled machine, and I had no idea how it worked. I was quickly thrown into the mix with a story on MU professor Richard Meadows, who won the prestigious Pfizer National Teaching Award for veterinary medicine. I called his office and was told he was out making his rounds. I anticipated a long day of trying to get ahold of someone desperately trying to avoid me.

Before long I was put on another story about MU students who had built an igloo in their backyard. I got to interview some cool guys about a cool story in a cool setting, and heading back to the newsroom I was pretty excited to write a story. Of course Professor Meadows called me back as soon as I sat down at the Missourian and I learned what it felt like to juggle stories. It was a crazy day, but I got some good experience out of it. The igloo story even appeared in the “most read” column.

http://www.columbiamissourian.com/stories/2011/01/28/mu-students-igloo-pays-homage-st-louis-blues/

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to First GA shift in the books…

  1. Mark Clemens says:

    Great read – really enjoyed it. “Only kings, presidents, editors, and people with tapeworms have the right to use the editorial ‘we.'”

Leave a Reply

